Day 3 – Lessons learned from my first rejection (attempt)

Tried to finish my 10-trades rejection attempt yesterday. I got up to 7 trades in total, before time actually ran out. Anyway, here’s how it went. Green and red text symbolizes what I consider a value upgrade and downgrade, respectively (photo proof will be added in a day or two):

  1. (Start) A paperclip
  2. A paper napkin (unused)
  3. A bundle of Post-its
  4. A small shampoo bottle
  5. A USB charger (!!) *
  6. A sealed can of cold Lipton ice tea
  7. A bottle of orange juice
  8. A bag of candy

130603_trading_small

Not too bad, considering it was my first “rejection” attempt. But I have to admit I still consider this a failure. For mainly three reasons:

  1. I didn’t manage 10 trades, which was my goal
  2. I didn’t challenge myself as much as I should. I often found myself choosing my subjects, avoiding people who I was sure wouldn’t want to participate.
  3. I used a white lie to approach people, saying that me and a friend were both doing this as a competition to see what we would end up with.

Nevertheless, at least I did my first attempt. I will have to shape up for the next one.

* I would like to give a special thanks to the guy trading my shampoo bottle for a USB charger. I felt like letting him down by trading away his USB charger for a can of ice tea, but it would have been very difficult to find people willing to trade something more expensive than the USB charger. Sorry, but thanks a million for your kindness!

Leave a Reply

