Lost in lack of translation

It’s been a while since I lived in a country where I do not understand a single word, and often cannot make myself understood. In Finland, English was usually sufficient; and although that was not always the case in Switzerland, by now my German is at least advanced enough to communicate the basics.

But here in Portugal I’m at a loss. Not with the younger generation (<35 yo), who mostly speak English very well, but often enough to make it a handicap. And since I’m determined to get to know the culture in this lovely country, I need to learn at least enough to interact with my neighbors and in stores.

So I did a quick scavenge hunt and found at least one free online course, offered by BBC. Let’s see if I can push myself to follow it…

Leave a Reply

