Mendoza

One thing that has definitely shocked me about Argentina is how incredibly large this country is! Not since I was in Australia in 2006 have I been surprised by the distances as much as here. For example, how about reaching the famous waterfalls in Iguazu, on the border to Brazil, by bus in only 21 hours. Or head the other direction, south, and expect to reach Patagonia in about the same time.

This past weekend me and some friends did a “much shorter” trip to the west, heading 14h away from BsAs to the small city of Mendoza. It is located at the foot of the Andes, literally where the flat plains are abruptly interrupted by one of the tallest mountain ranges in the world. Obviously, the scenery is just as impressive as one might expect.

I don’t wanna rant too much about the trip; I think a photo post sometime this weekend will speak for itself. Basically, the trip was a combination of great food, fabulous scenery, a horrible hostel, lots of wine, plenty of nature, not enough hiking, 28h of bus riding, a fair bit of argumentation, and very different likings.

The last two things on the list were also a good reminder of why I generally don’t like traveling with more than one person at a time, especially if I don’t know their traveling habits.

Nevertheless, it was very nice to get out of the city and see the mountains again. I’m hoping I’ll be able to go back there with one friend for some hiking in the area, but on the other hand this country has so much more nature to offer, so it might be a waste of time returning to the same place twice.

image

Not much progress being done with the handstand, so in the meantime I need to pimp my headstand photos with beautiful surroundings.

3 thoughts on “Mendoza

  1. Is it the Disentis t-shirt you’re wearing??
    So, you’re not satisfied with “only” a headstand, but admit that you’re (with all right, I may add) p r e t t y satisfied with that pic?

Leave a Reply

